Spring

Spring has been crawling onto the scene here like a guilty dog reluctantly returning to the scene of an over-turned trashcan crime. Rheannon and I went out for our weekly Thursday night group ride last night (although the numbers may be too low to technically call it a group ride this time of year). Last week I dressed for a 10% chance of rain, which means no rain jacket or winter tights, and was met with a cold downpour and hail. This week we expected more rain but were treated with last-minute clear skies. The temperature was warmer, the sun set later, orchids are blooming all over the forest, but winter still lingers in muddy puddles, as evidenced by the dirt pants we got from our ride:

Today I finished the last of my 29,029 feet of climbing, one week early. Here is what I’ve learned:

1. Making a goal like that really gets me out on my bike.

2. Getting out on my bike that much is a good way to get burned out.

It’s probably because I just spent 5 hours in the hot sun and I endo’d and slammed my head into my chest, but I’m tired. I need a small break. I need action movies and sleeping in. Pit bulls and ice cream.

We just watched the new Mission Impossible movie, and like any Tom Cruise movie, it was terrible. But with enough stunts and guns, anything can be entertaining for two hours. The highlight of the movie was a sandstorm car chase, which is a pretty good spin on a car chase. Also, Simon Pegg was in it, which helps make up for about 10% of the shots of Tom Cruise in Ray-Bans. One of these days I’m going to compile an ongoing list of the best movie car chases. I can already tell you that the number one spot is going to that scene in Die Hard 4 where Bruce Willis launches a cop car into a helicopter:

What else is going on? Rheannon is back working at the EPA and is very busy and very happy to be back. She likes it so much I think she would be volunteering if she wasn’t getting paid. Besides working there half-time, she’s also juggling work at the lichen lab, 12 credits at school, bryophyte workshops, yoga classes, pilates classes, spin classes, and mountain biking. She sleeps very well at night. Spring fever, have to do it all. Between the two of us we’ve probably got about 9 days left before we crash and end up locking ourselves in the house with nothing but frozen burritos and Hulu for a week.

Leave a comment